The University of Arizona

The Elias Toubassi Scholarship Endowment in Undergraduate Mathematics


These two scholarships aim to reward math majors who have chosen the Mathematics Education option, and also excellent math majors applying to graduate programs in the mathematical sciences.  Anyone may gift to this endowment. The endowment that funds these scholarships was established in honor Emeritus Mathematics Professor Elias Toubassi. 


Given in honor of Emeritus Professor of Mathematics Elias Toubassi.

Application Information

Eligibility: Graduating Mathematics Majors continuing on to a PhD Program in the Mathematical Sciences. Minimum math GPA: 3.0.
Frequency: Once a year, in Fall
Amount: $1,200 (as of 2016-17)
Application Period: Fall

Selected by the Undergraduate Committee (UGC).  Recipients are excellent graduating students applying to graduate programs in the mathematical sciences.  The recipients' PhD programs are listed.

Past Recipients

  • Craig Gross, Fall, 2016 - Michigan State University Applied Mathematics graduate program
  • David Simmons, Fall, 2015 - University of Washington Mathematics graduate program
  • Michael "Patrick" Martin, Fall, 2014 - Johns Hopkins University Mathematics graduate program
  • Austin Antoniou, Fall, 2013 - Ohio State University Mathematics graduate program
  • Rachel Baumann, Fall, 2012 - University of Arizona Mathematics graduate program
  • Howard Cheng, Fall, 2011 - NYU Courant Institute Mathematics graduate program
  • Robert Muth, Fall, 2010 - University of Oregon Mathematics graduate program
  • Sean Howe, Fall, 2009 - University of Chicago Mathematics graduate program
Department of Mathematics, The University of Arizona 617 N. Santa Rita Ave. P.O. Box 210089 Tucson, AZ 85721-0089 USA Voice: (520) 621-6892 Fax: (520) 621-8322 Contact Us © Copyright 2018 Arizona Board of Regents All rights reserved