The University of Arizona

Undergraduate Events Archive

501 past events archived

Friday, November 4, 2011

Public Event

Nature's Patterns
Location: The University of Arizona Bookstore, Student Union lower le
Presenter: Alan Newell, Regents' Professor of Mathematics, Department of Mathematics, The University of Arizona

Friday, October 21, 2011

Monday, October 17, 2011

Public Event

The Secrets of Mental Math
Location: Gallagher Theater
Presenter: Dr. Arthur Benjamin, Department of Mathematics, Harvey Mudd College

Saturday, October 15, 2011

Workshop

Iwasawa Theory
Location: Meinel Optical Sciences 307
Presenter: Romyar Sharifi, Department of Mathematics, The University of Arizona

Monday, September 19, 2011

SIAM Student Chapter Meeting

Research Opportunities in the Oil and Gas Industries
Location: Math 401N
Presenter: Jose Oliverio Alvarez-Sierra, ExxonMobil Upstream Research Company

Friday, September 9, 2011

Program in Applied Mathematics Colloquium

Segregation in Granular Flows
Location: Math 501
Presenter: Jim McElwaine, Department of Applied Maths and Theoretical Physics, University of Cambridge

Friday, April 15, 2011

Program in Applied Mathematics Colloquium

Variational Problems with Multiple Small Scales
Location: Math 501
Presenter: Shankar Venkataramani, Department of Mathematics, The University of Arizona

Friday, March 25, 2011

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Mathematics Instruction Colloquium

Calculus in 2011: Looking Backward, Looking Forward
Location: Math 501
Presenter: Deb Hughes-Hallett, Department of Mathematics, The University of Arizona

Friday, March 11, 2011

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Quantitative Biology Colloquium

Eco-evolutionary Feedbacks and the Dynamics of Adaptation
Location: Math 402
Presenter: Regis Ferriere, Department of Ecoloy and Evolutionary Biology, The University of Arizona, and Department of Ecology and Evolution, ENS Paris

Monday, March 7, 2011

Mathematics Education Seminar

The Analytical Explosion
Location: El Portal (nr Highland & 6th) Ocotillo
Presenter: Josh Stein, Director of Baseball Operations and Chris Long, Senior Quantitative Analyst, San Diego Padres Baseball

Friday, March 4, 2011

Workshop

Numerical Computing with Chebfun
Location: Math 501
Presenter: Nick Trefethen, University of Oxford Mathematical Institute

SIAM Student Chapter Meeting

A Talk with the President of SIAM
Location: Math 402
Presenter: Nick Trefethen, University of Oxford Mathematical Institute

Friday, February 25, 2011

Friday, February 11, 2011

Program in Applied Mathematics Brown Bag Seminar

What do proteins and Cheeseheads have in common? They are both Packer Fans. . .
Location: Math 402
Presenter: Aalok Shah, Program in Applied Mathematics, The University of Arizona

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Quantitative Biology Colloquium

Minimal Proteins
Location: Math 402
Presenter: Andy Hausrath, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, The University of Arizona

Friday, January 28, 2011

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Mathematics Education Seminar

A conversation on nature's patterns
Location: Cushing St Bar & Restaurant, 198 W Cushing, Tucson
Presenter: Alan Newell, Department of Mathematics, The University of Arizona

Friday, December 3, 2010

Program in Applied Mathematics Brown Bag Seminar

A Brief Introduction to Dirichlet Process and Its Application in Genetics
Location: Math 402
Presenter: Cong Xie, Department of Mathematics, The University of Arizona

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

SIAM Student Chapter Meeting

The Appropriateness of Spectral Nudging in Regional Climate Models
Location: Math 401N
Presenter: Christopher Castro, Department of Atmospheric Sciences, The University of Arizona

Monday, November 22, 2010

Monday, November 15, 2010

Undergraduate MathCats Event

Seeing inside the 3-sphere: an introduction to the Hopf fibration
Location: Math East 143
Presenter: Dr. Andrea Young, Department of Mathematics, The University of Arizona

Monday, November 8, 2010

Statistics GIDP Colloquium

Changepoints in Climatology
Location: Student Union Memorial Center, Presidio Room
Presenter: Robert Lund, Department of Mathematical Sciences, Clemson University

Upcoming events can be found here.

Department of Mathematics, The University of Arizona 617 N. Santa Rita Ave. P.O. Box 210089 Tucson, AZ 85721-0089 USA Voice: (520) 621-6892 Fax: (520) 621-8322 Contact Us © Copyright 2018 Arizona Board of Regents All rights reserved