The University of Arizona

Climate, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Diversity Statement

Prepared by the 2021-22 Climate, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (CDEI) Committee
Department of Mathematics, University of Arizona

In the Department of Mathematics, we aspire to foster a community that centers and recognizes diverse mathematical talent, enables access, and inspires mathematical exploration for people from all cultures, identities, backgrounds, and circumstances. Everyone deserves opportunities to realize their mathematical potential.

A wide variety of people have made important contributions to the mathematics community. This includes (but is not limited to) people of varying religious beliefs, racial and ethnic backgrounds, national origins and immigration statuses, socio-economic statuses, castes, sizes, sexes and genders, LGBTQ+-statuses, ages, disabilities, and health conditions (cognitive, psychological, and physical).

Yet, the mathematics community is not immune to the prejudices and inequities that exist in our society. We condemn violence and oppression in all forms. This includes, but is not limited to, discrimination regarding all the identities above and their intersections. Our department strives to nurture an equitable environment through outreach and research projects aimed at fostering a more just and equitable climate in mathematics.

Advancing equity is continually evolving and ongoing. The Climate Diversity Equity and Inclusion (CDEI) Committee plays an active role in addressing issues related to equity and inclusion in the department by considering and forwarding action items to the departmental administration related to workplace climate, diversity, equity, and inclusion. If you have any concerns or suggestions, please contact the CDEI committee at, or one of its members.


2021-2022 Climate, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee Members


Sarah Andrews Lecturer
Robert Ferrando Graduate Student, Applied Mathematics
Alejandra Gaona Staff
Anthony Guzman Graduate Student, Mathematics
Heonmi Kim Instructor
Mattia Latino Staff
Laura Miller Professor
Alison Mirin Postdoctoral Fellow
John Peca-Medlin Postdoctoral Fellow
Sunder Sethuraman Professor