The University of Arizona

The David Lomen Excellence in Mathematics Award Endowment


This unrestricted award recognizes well-rounded undergraduates with outstanding mathematical promise.   The endowment was established by friends and family of Distinguished Professor David Lomen, as a memorial to his life and his many contributions to mathematics and its teaching.


Professor Lomen (1937-2013) was a Distinguished Professor of Mathematics at the University of Arizona from 1966 until his retirement in 2011. Professor Lomen died after a three-year battle with cancer. This award honors the value Professor Lomen placed on excellence in undergraduate teaching, and his dedication to undergraduates' conceptual learning of mathematics.

David grew up in Iowa, where he attended a one-room schoolhouse through 8th grade. After high school, David attended Luther College, Decorah, and graduated in 1959 as a Mathematics and Physics Major. In 1964 he earned his PhD in Applied Mathematics from Iowa State University. After several years in the aerospace industry, he joined the Mathematics Department at the University of Arizona in 1966 but continued to consult with many different computer, educational, and aerospace companies throughout his long and distinguished academic career.

David co-authored several textbooks on calculus and differential equations and was a founding member of the Harvard Calculus Consortium, a group of mathematicians dedicated to changing the way calculus is taught. He was also a member of the Advanced Placement Calculus Development committee, a Faculty Fellow at the Native American Resource Center at the University of Arizona, a mentor for the Campus Christian Center and an author of many original research articles in Applied Mathematics and Educational Journals.

Aside from his many research contributions, David is perhaps best remembered for the impact that he had on the lives of others - his students, his mentees, and his colleagues. He received numerous awards for his teaching and advising of both undergraduate and post graduate students and enjoyed and excelled in looking for new ways to introduce complex material to students to keep them engaged in the classroom.  Others were encouraged to do the same by him, often changing their attitudes towards teaching and the way they taught.  His legacy lives on through these people.

Application Information

Frequency: Annual
Amount: $1,500 (minimum)
Application Period: Spring


  • Major:  Mathematics
  • Class Standing:  Sophomore or Junior
  • Enrollment:  Full-time
  • Citizenship/Residency:  none specified
  • GPA:  competitive applicants will have a minimum 3.5 GPA
  • Courses complete:  must have successfully completed vector calculus (Math 223) and differential equations (Math 355 or Math 254 - may be in-progress at time of application).  Both courses must be taken at the University of Arizona to qualify.
  • Renewal:  non-renewable; each student may receive the Lomen award only once.


Award recipients will be chosen based on their overall GPA, mathematical aptitude, character, and emerging leadership within the UA campus or larger community.  For example, a recipient may be involved in research, outreach, teaching, or may have participated in internships in their field of study.

Candidates may self-nominate or be nominated by faculty, and must submit an application package including:

  1. A letter of nomination, addressing the candidate's mathematical aptitude, character, and emerging leadership within the UA campus or larger community. Emerging leadership may be addressed by describing a candidate's involvement in research, outreach, teaching, or internships in their field of study, for example.
  2. A current Curriculum Vitae (CV)
  3. A completed application form (a green Apply button will appear to the right when available)


Recipients' names are added to a plaque in the lobby of the Mathematics Building.

For questions on applying for the Lomen Award, candidates may contact the Math Center:


Past Recipients