The University of Arizona

Goldwater Scholarship


The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation was established by Congress in 1986 to serve as a living memorial to honor the lifetime work of Senator Barry Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years in the U.S. Senate. 

By providing scholarships to college sophomores and juniors who intend to pursue research careers in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering, the Goldwater Foundation is helping ensure that the U.S. is producing the number of highly-qualified professionals the Nation needs in these critical fields. Over its 30-year history, Goldwater Scholarships have been awarded to thousands of undergraduates, many of whom have gone on to win other prestigious awards like the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Fellowship, Rhodes Scholarship, Churchill Scholarship and the National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship that support our Scholars’ graduate school work. Today, Goldwater alumni can be found conducting research that is helping defend the Nation and finding cures for catastrophic diseases and teaching future generations of scientists, mathematicians and engineers.

Application Information

Eligibility: UA Selects several nominees
Frequency: Annual

Scholarships of up to $7,500 a year are provided to help cover costs associated with tuition, mandatory fees, books, room and board. A sophomore who receives a Goldwater Scholarship will receive up to $7,500 in each of his/her junior and senior years. A junior who receives a Goldwater Scholarship will receive up to $7,500 in his/her senior year.

Students who are nominated who do not receive a scholarship but who show particular promise will be recognized with an Honorable Mention. Students who receive an Honorable Mention do not receive financial support.

To be eligible for nomination for a Goldwater Scholarship, a student must:

1. Be a full-time matriculated sophomore or junior pursuing a degree at an accredited 2- or 4-year institution of higher education during the 2017-2018 academic year,

2. Intend to pursue a research career in a natural science, mathematics or engineering,*

3. Have a college grade point average of at least a 3.00 on a 4.00 scale.

4. Be a U.S. citizen from the 50 states or the District of Columbia; a U.S. national for those students nominated from Puerto Rico, Guam, Virgin Islands, American Samoa, and Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands; or a permanent resident. A permanent resident nominated for the scholarship must include a letter stating his/her intent to become a U.S. citizen. A photocopy of the nominee’s Permanent Resident Card, also known as the Alien Registration Card or Green Card, must also be submitted.

* The natural sciences, engineering and mathematics fields and sub-fields used by the Goldwater Foundation to determine eligibility are those used by the National Science Foundation for its Graduate Research Fellowship Program. These include: Chemistry, Computer and Information Sciences and Engineering, Engineering, Geosciences, Life Sciences, Materials Research, Mathematical Sciences, Physics and Astronomy, and Psychology. To view a field’s sub-fields, click on the field in the table below.

While research in medicine is not supported by the National Science Foundation, students interested in pursuing careers in medicine are eligible for a Goldwater Scholarship IF MEDICAL RESEARCH IS A CENTRAL PART OF THE STUDENT’S CAREER GOALS.

The U of A Office of Nationally Competitive Scholarships (ONCS) selects our university's nominees for the scholarship each year.  To apply, contact ONCS (see the Application link below for more information).

Past Recipients

  • Daniel Fried, 2013
  • Eric Hansen, 2013
  • Derek Huang, 2011
  • Troy Comi, 2010
  • Stacy Shiffler, 2010
  • Jennifer Sierchio, 2010
  • Arshed al-Obeidi, 2009
  • Stacy Shiffler, 2009 - Honorable Mention
  • Sean Howe, 2008
  • Michael R. Mitchell, 2008
  • David Hernandez, 2007
  • Caitlin Casey, 2006
  • David Hernandez, 2006 - Honorable Mention
  • David Brown, 2003
  • Laura Baker, 2002
  • Johanna Schmidtke, 2001
Department of Mathematics, The University of Arizona 617 N. Santa Rita Ave. P.O. Box 210089 Tucson, AZ 85721-0089 USA Voice: (520) 621-6892 Fax: (520) 621-8322 Contact Us © Copyright 2018 Arizona Board of Regents All rights reserved